Recording areas

Glamorgan is split into two areas as far as bird reports are concerned.  Together, the two recording areas constitute what is referred to as ‘Greater Glamorgan’.

Eastern Glamorgan

Eastern Glamorgan covers the old counties of Mid and South Glamorgan, now the unitary authorities of:

  • Bridgend
  • Caerphilly (west only)
  • Cardiff
  • Merthyr Tydfil
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf
  • Vale of Glamorgan

West Glamorgan

West Glamorgan covers the old county of West Glamorgan, now the unitary authorities of:

  • Neath-Port Talbot
  • Swansea

Readers should note, that due to a series of local government reorganisations within Wales, the border of Greater Glamorgan no longer coincides with that of the ancient county of Glamorganshire (Watsonian vice-county 41). This map shows that the border of Greater Glamorgan overlaps that of the adjacent vice counties, namely Carmarthenshire, Breconshire and Monmouthshire. In the east the recording area border north of Cardiff follows the river Rhymney.

Traditionally, bird recording has used the vice-county (VC) system in order to split the United Kingdom up into geographical areas. However, records from the Greater Glamorgan area are welcome.